Delhi MCD Election 2022|Delhi Municipal Corporation election 2022

Delhi MCD Election 2022 seat list|Delhi MCD election 2021 candidates list|Delhi MCD election 2022 opinion poll|Delhi mcd election 2022 list|delhi mcd election 2022 month:The three Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) — North, East, and South will go to the polls in April. The three Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) — North, East, and South will go to the polls in April.the dates of the municipal corporation elections in Delhi coming near, the Delhi State Election Commission is gearing up for the polls and making adequate arrangements for the same. The three Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) — North, East and South, will go to polls in April.

An official of the poll panel said that nearly 1,50,000 officials would be needed to conduct the MCD elections in the national capital, the Hindustan Times. In view of the Covid-19 pandemic, the election commission has also decided to increase the number of polling booths due to which more personnel will be required for election work.An official on the condition of anonymity told HT that the commission has started sending letters to government departments and various authorities to identify officials and make them available for poll duties.

Delhi MCD Election 2022


The Capital is all set for the crucial municipal corporation elections, due to be held in the city this April, with the state election commission (SEC) completing two crucial tasks ahead of the polls — revising the electoral rolls and fixing reserved seats.According to the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, of the city’s 272 municipal wards, 46 are reserved for people from the Scheduled Caste (SC) category. Additionally, 114 seats are reserved for women.

The notification issued by the SEC on Tuesday said the commission has arranged wards in descending order of percentage of SC population, and the selected SC reserved wards for 2022 were the ones that follow the last ward reserved in 2017. For instance, the Punjabi Bagh ward with 20.45% SC population was the last reserved ward in descending order in 2017. So, this year, the election commission has selected subsequent wards in descending order such as Khyala (20.02%), RK Puram (19.45%), and so on.

Delhi MCD Election 2022 New Updated

The State Election Commission (SEC) will announce polling dates for Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) today in the evening, reported news agency ANI. 

Earlier the SEC had announced that the MCD election will be held in April this year and added that publication of the list of polling station would start on February 23. 

In view of the Covid-19 pandemic, the numbers of voters at a polling station has been fixed at 1,250. 

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi has 272 constituencies spread across over three municipal corporations — North, South, and East. The civic body is elected for a term of five years and the current civic body’s term would end in April 2022 which was elected in April 2017. 

Delhi MCD Election 2022 seat list

Ahead of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls, Congress leader Kamal Gaur and BJP leader Gaurav Sharma have joined the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) at the party headquarters here on Monday.

“The AAP family is expanding its reach day by day. Today, the reasons behind the expansion of our family are Kamal Gaur, and Gaurav Sharma. Gaur is joining the AAP with his family and team members. He has completed a five-decade-long political journey to join our party today,” AAP leader Dilip Pandey said while welcoming both to the party.

Kamal Gaur has served as the Secretary of the Delhi Pradesh Congress, General Secretary of the Purvanchal Kalyan Trade Union, Secretary of the Progressive National Labour Union, General Secretary of the Delhi Pradesh Youth Congress, General Secretary of East Delhi Youth Congress, Vice President NSUI Delhi, Convenor East Delhi Congress Campaign Committee, Executive Member Delhi Pradesh Congress, and President East Delhi Youth Congress.

अस्मिता स्कॉलरशिप स्कीम ऑनलाइन आवेदन

Delhi MCD election 2022 opinion poll

In the run-up to the municipal elections in Delhi, the state poll body has initiated the process to identify sensitive booths in the 272 municipal wards across the city, an official said on Monday.

In the 2017 elections, 799 booths in the city were marked as “sensitive” and 208 were marked as “hyper sensitive”. The election commission official said the vulnerability of booths is judged on various factors including topography, history of polling, cases of violence and demography. In past elections, sensitive polling booths have been marked in areas such as Okhla, Shaheen Bagh, Bawana, Narela, Trilokpuri and Babarpur among others .

“Inputs from police officials will be taken to finalise the list of sensitive polling stations. Northeast Delhi, which witnessed communal violence in 2020, and other regions where tensions may erupt will also be assessed. Such polling stations will require more resources, security deployment, enhanced surveillance and videography,” the official said.

In the last municipal elections in 2017, 56,000 police officials, 40 companies of paramilitary forces and 20,000 home guards were deployed

haryana panchayat chunav 2022

Delhi MCD Election 2022 candidates list

After much deliberation, the State Election Commission Tuesday announced the list of reserved seats for elections to 272 wards of Delhi’s three municipal corporations — East, South and North.

The MCD elections are scheduled in April. According to the order, 15 of 104 wards in the South Corporation, 20 of 104 in North and 11 of 64 wards in East have been reserved for Scheduled Castes, based on the 2011 Census. And, 50% of seats have been reserved for women.

While the number of reserved seats has not increased, the move is likely to throw up challenges for sitting councillors, whose seats may now fall in the category reserved for Scheduled Castes or women. This also includes the three sitting mayors.

A former mayor said now that his seat falls in the reserved category, he will ask the party to give him tickets from an adjacent ward. Similarly, seats of key political leaders now fall under the reserved category. In the North Corporation, seats of former Mayor and state BJP president Adesh Gupta, current Mayor Raja Iqbal Singh and former Mayor Jai Prakash seats are now in the reserved category. In the South Corporation, seats of current Mayor Mukesh Suryan and Mayor Narendra Chawla are now in the reserved category.

The move will affect the opposition too. Seats of Leader of Opposition in the North Corporation, AAP’s Vikas Goel, South Corporation’s Leader of Opposition Prem Chauhan and East Corporation’s Leader of Opposition Manoj Tyagi have also been reserved.

Is there any election in Delhi in 2022?

The elections for the North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and East Delhi Municipal Corporation are speculated to be held in March or April 2022.

How many seats are there in Delhi MCD?

In the municipal election of April 2017 North, South and East MCD, with a total of 272 seats, went to polls. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the highest number of seats in each of the three new corporations. After nearly 12 years of running the MCD this was the fourth consecutive victory for the BJP.

When was the last MCD election in Delhi?

The elections for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi were held on 23 April 2017. The next elections will held in 2022. The results were declared on 26 April 2017 in which BJP was elected. The total turnout for the election was 54%.

Who runs MCD in Delhi?

The Government of India is nearly the sole landowner and also owns about eighty percent of the buildings in the New Delhi Municipal Council area. Private ownership of property in this area.

Leave a Comment